Camus…

by lapostina

To those interested:

I apologise for not updating my blog as I have been busy preparing and participating in the competition, which took me to Fujian, China. I have returned and am full of energy to continue my blogging journey.

Albert Camus was killed in a car accident on the 4th of January, 1960.

The Facel-Vega in which Camus traveled in with the family of his friend Michel Gallimard flew off the road as they were returning to Paris from Provence. The accident occurred near the turn to the town of  Villeblevin.

He died immediately.

Photo: Journal d’Alger, 6th January 1960

His body was taken to the town hall of Villeblevin, where it remained until the morning of the next day. Michel Gallimard died in hospital two days later. His wife and daughter survived.

Foto: A monument to Camus in Villeblevin

An unfinished manuscript of his novel “The first man” and an unused train ticket were found among the personal belongings of the author.

Albert Camus was buried in the village of Lourmarin in the Luberon  of southern France.

The place of the car accident in our day. Photographer: Dean Rogers